East African Beverage/ Kenyan Chai/ East African Tea

Did I take an easy route out? Well yes!
But then have I ever posted the masala chai ? No !!
Is this recipe same as Indian masala chai? Not really!!!
What’s different? – the masalas…

Well, across africa tea is a very popular beverage…but from what I read about Kenya….they love their tea with plenty of spices…this recipe is popular across all the countries in East Africa and apparently called as east african chai.

So here is it to my favorite companion through nights and day, helping me keep up my energy levels and brain functions in place..Chai!

Ingredients
3 cups water
2 cups milk
3 tspn tea leaves – of your choice
6 tspn sugar (or as per taste)
1 stick of cinnamon
2-3 cardamom
1-2 cloves
3-4 black pepper
1 inch of fresh ginger – peeled
Method
1) Combine all ingredients together and bring to a boil. Reduce flame and let it stand for some more time
2) Strain and serve hot..

Check out the Blogging Marathon page for the other Blogging Marathoners doing BM# 63

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

23 responses to “East African Beverage/ Kenyan Chai/ East African Tea

  1. Pretty similar to Indian tea, this version of East African chai is amazing. Lovely!!

  2. I love how well you have presented a simple chai..so pretty…I am not a chai person who I won't comment on that..lol

  3. Wow, I thought Chai is an Indian proprietary!! 😉 Nice to know about the African cuisine and its Indian similarities…

  4. Love the spices going into this tea. Yum…

  5. All the spices in the Tea would lend wonderful flavors to it . Since i am not a tea person my mornings and days just need smiles and energy from family 😀

  6. Even I considered taking an easy way out with one of the tough letters. The difficult part was I don't drink tea. I later a found a recipe for that tough letter and didn't have to make chai.

    I imagine teh flavors of all those spies in chai but pepper? That is an interesting ingredient for chai.

  7. Very similar to our chai, nice and refreshing…

  8. That is one flavorful blend of chai masala. Coincidentally I happen to use the same exact spices when I prepare Chai masala at home.

  9. That is a very flavorful and delicious sounding chai.

  10. Cloves and cinnamon in chai.. wow will sure try it.

  11. This chai almost looks and sounds like our masala chai na.Lovely presentation as usual in this series.

  12. That is a spice heavy chai! Would love this on a cold evening 🙂

  13. I'm not a tea drinker but my hubby loves tea. I enjoy making it for him. This version is a must try, going to try it soon:)

  14. East African chai rocks, prefect drink to enjoy while the weather is chilled.

  15. Sounds like a flavorful tea,love those spices used..

  16. So similar to our masala chai!

  17. So many similarities to the Indian version… Lovely series with Africa, pradnya

  18. That is a nice cup of Chai Pradnya. Good choice for the alphabet.

  19. I can't imagine my chai without cloves & cardamon, must try other spices too.

  20. a great chai version and the photos are really awesome

  21. nice version of chai… Pics are too good

  22. Beautiful presentation. Loved the click!

Leave a Reply

